WELL HERE THEY ARE!  TA DAAA!!


THE VIEW from the Family Room/Den looking into the Breakfast Nook part of the kitchen.

I don’t know about you, but to me they look like they were born there.    When we moved into this house in ’05 I just hung up some curtains I made from the last house and “made do” with those….even though I didn’t really like them anymore.

This is taken from the kitchen island.  The double-doors back there go out to the Loggia/Pool area.  Part of this project was trying to come up with a fitting portal from inside to outside as well as providing Window Treatments/Privacy  for the double windows at their right.  Ties them together, I think.

This is what the breakfast nook looked like after I took down the valances and before  Son and Husband hung the cornices.  

Husband and Son hung the cornices using 2″ x 2″ angle and using 3″ cabinet screws.

I was at first going to hang the curtains directly into the wall, but since these cornices were hung so soundly, I used the old fashioned wood brackets that came with the curtain rod.  These are held onto the sides with Elmer’s Wood Glue and wood screws.

This is Newell who made the cornices.  He owns the company, Bald Furniture.    Son and I picked them up and whisked them away home for me to apply the wood appliqués and paint.

Son, all the while, holds back the Mammarazzi.  

I love this fabric.  It looks like it has about 6 different “monograms” on it.  It’s very weighty.  They are cotton/linen canvas.  Really heavy but I couldn’t find this in any other weight.  Love it.  LOVE IT!!

The curtains were done by Avec Dieu (With God).  I found them on Etsy and they are very professional, kind and reasonable.  A portion of their proceeds goes toward helping those in need.  

Lovingly having curtains in the kitchen ~~ D

This is shared on French Country Cottage’s “Feathered Nest Friday”  Linky back to the party!  http://frenchcountrycottage.blogspot.com/

9 responses »

  1. Dawne,

    This is gorgeous, the cornices took my breath away. I love the curtains. The whole room is beautiful.

    Cynthia

  2. Suzan says:

    Your cornices are just spectacular – ( so are your curtains ) brilliant job!!!

  3. Manuela@A Cultivated Nest says:

    Those cornices are just stunning!

Leave a Reply

