I didn’t design these, of course.  But I had been thinking of what to do for the kitchen/breakfast area for way too long a time.

Finally the vision of using cornices in there popped into my head.  

At first I thought padded cornices, but I think those are fine but are not the crisp look I wanted.  So, wood cornices painted to match the wood trim in the house it would have to be.

I contacted Newell, the owner of Bald Furniture here in the Houston area and he was, fortunately for me, keen on the idea.  I gave him my measurements and he quickly gave me a very reasonable quote.  I went into his shop and finalized the transaction.  He said he doesn’t paint them as he only stains his furniture there.  I said I’d paint them as I was going to apply wood appliqués anyways.

I am SO pleased the way these turned out!    I sort of dry-brushed these so the paint would be thin enough for the grain to show through just a little.  I didn’t want to “antique” them as I didn’t think it would work for the area.

These are pretty huge.  One is 9 feet long and the other is 8 1/2 feet long!

Now to wait for the curtains to arrive and someone (maybe me) to hang all these things.

EXCITED!

Just one more puzzle piece almost done in my decor rampage.

I shared this on French Country Cottage’s “Feathered Nest Friday”.  Thank you so much for hosting such a lovely party where we can share our work and ideas!

Linky back to the party!:

http://frenchcountrycottage.blogspot.com/2012/09/feathered-nest-friday-party-time.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:%20FrenchCountryCottage%20(FRENCH%20COUNTRY%20COTTAGE)

Lovingly ~~ D

9 responses »

  1. creativehomeexpressions says:

    Great looking cornices, Dawne! I’ll look forward to seeing them in place in your kitchen. Love the embellishment on them!

  2. These cornices are unbelievable. Just gorgeous.

    Cynthia

  3. I love the cornices. I have been looking for the same scrolls to put on my furniture. You can view my chest of drawers on my blog that I wanted to decorate with this scroll. http://cassandrashomeelegance.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

