I have to wait for inspiration, and sometimes it doesn’t come for what seems like forever.

I think sometimes I wish I was one of those people who moves into a new house and boom, everything’s decorated.  I just can’t do that.  I mean, I could but it would be a cluster-(you-know-what).

The guest bathroom upstairs is small.  Smaller than I’d like, but there it is.  It also seemed to sterile, so lifeless and cold.  Plain, plain, plain!

Just your typical run-of-the-mill guest bathroom. *yawn*

Just your typical run-of-the-mill guest bathroom. *yawn*

When a bathroom is very large, in my opinion, it can rest upon its huge honkin’ architectural laurels.  No need for feathers, those peacocks, no, no, no.

How to decorate a small utilitarian space without using fabric?  How to do this with only paint and pictures and towels?  I think that is easier for others and their bathrooms look very nice and inviting.

This one, like the powder room I did downstairs, needed more.

I came across this architectural fragment from Versailles; Marie Antoinette’s old stomping grounds.    If it’s good enough for Antoinette, then it should be good enough for me, no?  Oui!

A cornice fragment from Versailles, France

A cornice fragment from Versailles, France

I had seen cornices in bathrooms before, but only in magazines.  They were all cornices made of fabric and batting covering a straight or shaped board.  (Like the ones I used to make for ladies back in St. Louis years before).

When I saw this pic of a fragment, the lightbulb over my head cried, “eureka!”.  Or something.

I located an artist on Etsy who I just knew could do this kind of work convincingly.   I asked her if she was interested in doing this project and she agreed.  I painted this below just to show her the shape of the cornice and placement of the elements (I added a fleur di lis, of course!)

I don't consider myself an artist, but I tried to convey what I wanted the cornice to look like.

I don’t consider myself an artist, but I tried to convey what I wanted the cornice to look like.

I went about preparing the bathroom for the cornice’s arrival.  Paint.  Color.  What to pick?  Well obviously it has to be drawn from the cornice itself, right?

So I pull out my trusty paint chips and we’re off!

Meanwhile, Amanda sent me a picture of what she had done so far.  I just had two very tiny little things I needed touched up and so I took pics of them with the  pointer showing what I needed done.

The cornice soon came and I ran upstairs to hang it up and put some linen curtains with it.  (These curtains shown may or not be the ones that I use).  

So here it is.  I’m so excited to show this to you!

I still need to do the other side of the room:  Light fixture (The one to die for, I have on order!).  Tissue box and wastebasket and etc.  Another mirror other than the one I bought?  And so on…..

Also:  I like to use the 2-bottle wine buckets as magazine holders.  They have such a nice oval shape.

Also: I like to use 2-bottle wine buckets as magazine holders. They have such a nice oval shape.

Amanda, the artist that painted and sculpted the cornice can be contacted here:  http://www.amandawhited.name/

This is the linky to:  French Country Cottage – I submitted this blog post to her site.  Thanks to her for hosting such a great opportunity for all of us to share!   Feathered Nest Friday!  http://frenchcountrycottage.blogspot.com/

Lovingly ~~ D

Lovingly ~~ D

 

 

 

10 responses »

  1. I love, love this cornice. It is so gorgeous. Everything is so beautiful. The sign would be in my bathroom in a minute. I want one!

    Cynthia

  2. Look at me! I’m commenting about the bathroom that I love!! It worked!

  3. Betsy says:

    This is such a beautiful piece of art. The colors you chose are fabulous and the detail is just amazing. Love the new look!

  4. Courtney says:

    Thanks so much for linking this up at Feathered Nest Friday~ did you get my comment about winning the transferware giveaway? Waiting to hear from you so you can shop Nancy’s shop!

    • Oh my goodness! Did I win? I had no idea. Some communication must have crossed somewhere. Maybe I forgot to subscribe to the comments *clunks head!*
      I’m in Germany right now and I’ll look around if I can, otherwise I’ll contact you all on Monday! Thank you so much! Dawne

  5. It is BEAUTIFUL! I love concealing the shower this way!

    I see Courtney has contacted you about winning the$50 to my shop, English Transferware on Etsy. Contact me when you are ready to make your selection. Congratulations!

    Nancy

    • Thank you so much! A lightbulb finally went off over my head on that one.

      Thank you also on the contest as well. I’ve been looking around your store a bit. Maybe I should hold a contest helping me choose from all that great transferware! (;^)

Leave a Reply

