I tried this today.  I liked it.  I won’t say it’s the best, but it’s the best guilt-free “ice cream” I’ve ever had!  If you love bananas try this:

ice cream for breakfast

 Recipe: single-ingredient ice cream


So what’s this ice cream for breakfast ridiculousness? Well, it’s true. I had ice cream for breakfast today. Actually, I had “ice cream”. I read about this one-ingredient ice cream on Apartment Therapy’s The Kitchnmonths ago and was intrigued. That single ingredient would be:

bananas

i prefer them just spotted

I try, I really try to love bananas. It’s not them, it’s me. I like fruit that is juicy and bananas are not juicy. But bananas are so very very good for you and that is why I buy them, in the hopes that I’ll guilt myself into eating them. What usually happens is they start to turn brown, I chuck them into the freezer, and wind up makingchocolate chip banana bread to give away to my friends. Or I’ll peel one open and split it with Kaweah. That’s why anytime, anyone, anywhere peels a banana, she suddenly appears at your elbow.

and there she is

slice into 1/4 to 1/2-inch disks

This ice cream recipe is super simple. I recommend that you follow the instructions and slice up the bananas before freezing. It makes it far easier – nay, possible – to blend them up properly as opposed to trying to chop up the frozen whole bananas (uh, that didn’t really work for me). They freeze through in about an hour, depending on your freezer. Once they are ready, just plop all of them into a food processor. I had to pry a few off the plate with a knife.

sliced

frozen

This is where the fun begins. Start running the food processor. The banana disks will soon become frozen banana gravel. That’s fine. You’re not there yet. Keep running the processor. At some point, the blades will just spin around and nothing will move. Expect to stop and scrape down the sides of the work bowl several times. As the pieces get smaller and the surface area increases, the banana will begin to thaw just a touch and suddenly it all blends into this lovely whipped banana that has the texture of soft serve ice cream. Wow!

frozen banana gravel

whipped goodness (really, it’s good for you!)

The transformation was a surprise, but a nice one at that. It doesn’t have a strong banana taste, but it does have a banana taste. Still, for me – the girl with lukewarm feelings about bananas – I thought it was fantastic. I have done a couple of batches now: one plain and one with peanut butter and cocoa powder. My friends came over yesterday and gave me feedback on the two. Everyone preferred the peanut butter and cocoa flavor, but liked the plain (banana) as well. They were all surprised by the creamy texture. “This is just banana?”

a dollop of peanut butter

some dutch-process cocoa

eat it soft or freeze it for scooping

I want to try using coconut milk, fresh berry purée, caramel, and of course, some mix-ins. It’s a great ice cream alternative if you don’t mind the presence of a banana flavor (Jeremy DID mind it), are lactose intolerant, or want a vegan or lowfat or low sugar version of a creamy summer treat. Plus, it’s fun and quick to make. I don’t have to plan ahead of time and chuck my ice cream maker container into the freezer the day before or deal with separating eggs. So that’s what I had for breakfast this morning – bananas, but in this lovely banana ice cream form. Win-win!!

kaweah got a little bit of the bottom scoop

Single Ingredient Ice Cream
from The Kitchn

4 bananas, just slightly overripe (brown spots good, completely black not so good)
2 tbsps creamy peanut butter (optional – thus 2 ingredient ice cream)
2 tsps cocoa powder (Dutch process), (optional – thus 2 or 3 ingredient ice cream depending on peanut butter)

DO NOT FREEZE THE WHOLE BANANA, you’ll have a heck of a time blending that beast.

Peel the bananas and slice them up into 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick disks. Place the banana slices in the freezer for about an hour or until they are frozen solid. Put the frozen slices in a food processor and pulse. First they will start to resemble gravel, but keep going. The bananas will soon turn into a frozen mush – at this point, start scraping the sides down (you will do this a lot). Or you could add a dash of milk since the liquid will help the blending. I’m lactose-intolerant, so after a few minutes of stopping to scrape the sides down, the banana begins to blend into a creamy texture. When the bananas look like whipped ice cream, you can add your mix-ins like peanut butter and/or cocoa powder, chocolate chips, toffee, raspberries, anything goes! Straight out of the food processor, the ice cream is like soft serve. You can also freeze it for a firmer texture. I find it’s pretty hard (and therefore, brittle) when I scoop it immediately after removing it from the freezer. Just give it a minute or two to soften up. Makes a pint.

August 12th, 2010: 1:13 pm
filed under dessertfrozenfruitgluten-freerecipessweet

Leave a Reply

