There are no signs along the highway to point out the direction to the Creole Nature Trail.  Husband just instinctively pointed the car South toward it.

Husband and I flew to Georgia the other day to pick up a car we had purchased there.   We had made plans to drive it back home  to the Houston area.  After picking up the car, we decided to meander a bit and take the scenic route along the Gulf Coast stopping here and there.

After traveling all day just to gain some ground back home, our first stop was the Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa in Mobile, Alabama .   An extremely gorgeous old Hotel with a side-order of everything.

We stopped in just before midnight to get some much-needed sleep before driving on.  We had already spent the whole day traveling.  House to airport,  airport to car dealership outside of Atlanta, Georgia,  dealership to hotel, etc.  Exhausted.

Here is a peek at the interior of this Hotel.  I won’t bore you with a million pictures showing you “here is the elevator”  “here is the sink”.   Below is a picture of the ornate lobby and a plaque placed on the wall by “chicks who really dig Andrew Jackson”.

This beautiful Hotel is not your typical stop-in place.  It's a very fine example of the many gorgeous Places the Old South has to offer.

This beautiful Hotel is not your typical stop-in place. It's a very fine example of the many gorgeous Places the Old South has to offer.

Forgot to do the Tour de Toilettes while in the Hotel, I call this one:  Tour de Outside Hotel

Forgot to do the Tour de Toilettes while in the Hotel, I call this one: Tour de Outside Hotel

(For those who are not familiar with my Facebook D Magazine Page, Tour de Toilettes is a silly thing I do.  I take my picture in bathrooms here and there.  I don’t know why I started doing this (;^).

Continuing the article:  In the morning Husband went for a Starbuck’s and a massage while I slept in.  (I always sleep in.  I can’t help it..it’s just the way my brain is wired).

Later on, we stopped in for a late 3 p.m. lunch in the sleepy, artsy,  small town of Breaux Bridges, Louisiana.  Husband had heard from a friend about the Cafe des Amis.  We ordered po’boy sandwiches, one of our cajun favorites.  A crawfish one for Husband, an oyster one for me.   The oyster po’boy was good but not the best I’ve ever had.  However, if it’s a sandwich which just so happens to have oysters and maybe a slash of hot sauce on it, I’m a pretty happy gal.  The curly fries and the turtle cheesecake weren’t bad either. 😉

I noticed the waitress seemed to have a look on her face of anticipation or anxiousness to please.  Her expression didn’t seem to reflect that we were being pleased by the food or the service.  Dear kind waitress, We were pleased…honest. We were just talking, eating and being distracted by our iPhones, iPads and me, by my short iAttention span.  The tip Husband left made her perk up a bit.  *see? we were pleased, honey*

I had noticed all around the interior of the restaurant, there were white-painted support beams along the exposed red brick interior.  Thousands (possibly) had signed their names on the beams in black Sharpie.  “I just hate that”  I said to dear Husband, “It’s so trashy when restaurants let people write on their walls.  Nasty”.  *wrinkles nose*    Husband pointed to a sign on the wall I hadn’t noticed:    (Do Not Sign On Walls Except For Those Artists Who Have Contributed To Making This Place What It Is Today).  Okay, so it wasn’t just anyone coming in there and writing directly on their walls.  I can be wrong…sometimes.

A Sunday in the Life of Cafe des Amis

—^ Short video above (from omdlaw on You Tube) of the Sunday Zydeco brunch at Cafe des Amis.  I wanna dance with that guy!

Tour de Toilettes: (Not of Me Edition). Wall art in the toilette of Cafe des Amis. Acrylic painted on metal. I don't know what it's called, so I'll just call it "Beauregard and Belle"

Tour de Toilettes: (Not of Me Edition). Wall art in the toilette of Cafe des Amis. Acrylic painted on metal. I don't know what it's called, so I'll just call it "Beauregard and Belle"

Across the street from the cafe was a little art gallery where Husband spotted a painting he liked but not enough to pay the crazy price for.

Acrylics painted on antique wooden door with crystal door knob.

Acrylics painted on antique wooden door with crystal door knob.

I really liked the painting he was looking at too.  Maybe if they hadn’t insisted on selling it at $3000.00 he might have bought it.   Those who know him would know if he wanted it badly, he would have negotiated with the gallery owner and both would be satisfied upon completion of the sale.  There I go bragging about him again.

I bought these two little paintings.  These reflect the day, I think.  The South, the food, the beautiful weather and all.

I bought these two little paintings. These reflect the day, I think. The South, the food, the beautiful weather and all.

I found some little paintings of oysters to hang in the kitchen.  I liked the way the artist seemed to let the oysters drip down the sides of the canvas.  These I won’t frame, of course.  Oysters were the perfect symbol of the day as I truly love the taste of raw oysters…or oysters cooked pretty much any way.  It appears to have been painted in a thinned-out acrylic on canvas although it may be done in watercolors, I can’t tell.  I should have asked!

Our drive Westbound along the Coast was a beautiful sight all along the way.  Such a nice day, perfect weather for driving with the top down.

We spotted pelicans flying in formation.   I have not seen them do anything in formation before except sit together on fencing around moored sea vessels, flapping their wings periodically.  Lovely to see them fly in that way.

Way before sundown, the mosquitoes were out for their supper.  Us.  We stopped and put the top up.  By the time we emerged from that part of the area, we literally could not see through the windshield having vehicular-ly murdered thousands upon thousands of them as well as a myriad of other insects via the windshield.   Now what would the poor birds eat?  I did sort of enjoy the sound of the pip.. pip ..thip ..pip ..pip ..SLAP! on the windshield.  Pip ..pip ..thip  ..pip .pip .pip  SCHWAAACK!  *ooooh that was a big one*    😉  (sorry, PETA)

Alligators everywhere.  They were in the “streams” along both sides of the road.  I had never seen one in the wild before.  Until then I had only seen them in zoos.  In cages.   Husband kept pointing them out to me as we drove along:

“Look, there’s two of them!”

**me:  (startled) Ack!!**

“Look there’s another one”!

**me:  (startled)  Ack!!**

After that I keep seeing them on my own.  I couldn’t stop myself looking for them and jumping out of my skin and yelping every time.    Husband has spotted alligators numerous times over the years on golf courses and such.    Let it not be said golf isn’t dangerous ……….(just ask Tiger Woods haHA!)

I just jumped at the sight of this picture while downloading it for you.  I'm such a wuss...

I just jumped at the sight of this picture while downloading it for you. I'm such a wuss...

We finally made our way home and Husband spray-washed the car before putting it into its new home, the two-car garage. We have a three-car garage of sorts, the single one being at the opening of the porte cochere.

We had enjoyed our two days’ adventure, travel, car-buying trip.  Great to have this with your spouse.  We must do this more often we always say at times like these, we’ll just have to keep our word to ourselves, won’t we?

Husband always says:  “Slow down.  Look around and observe.   Enjoy it!”    Which reminds me of the Ferris Beuller line:    “Life is short and moves way too fast sometimes.  If you don’t take the time to look around once in a while, you might miss it”.

Lovingly tendered ~~ D

Oh dear, I almost forgot…we bought this little morsel:

Leave a Reply

