This is Jubilee.   (Approximately 2′ x 4′.  Made of driftwood, me likey).   This is not my usual style, maybe that’s why I like it so much.  My usual style is “lofty”.  I saw him at Tuesday Morning and I was just drawn to him.  I didn’t know just what I was going to do with him, but I just HAD to have him.

I had decided earlier in the year that I needed to do something with the theater room so I put him in there just to see.   {We had installed a nice flat TV and a killer sound system, 4 large comfy leather chairs, and that was about it.}   Now what to do?  What to DO???

I didn’t want to go the route of the traditional home theater decor:  red velvet curtains laden with gold bullion trim,  full-on stadium seating and then chock- a-bock filled with theater accoutrements:  popcorn machine, huge movie reels and movie posters on the walls (even red shirred velvet on the walls which creates a sea of blood red).  ‘Scuse me, I may vom.

So what to do with Jubilee?

Most of the decor in our house is in the anti-loud colors theme.  Light Blue, Beige, Coke-bottle-which-has-been-washed-with-sand and-salt-water Green (also the color of the water which surrounds Venice), and other soothing colors.  Warm, inviting (I hope) and calm.  I wanted to create calm-inducing home which I absolutely require and it’s a nice place Husband can come home to and not be faced with a “crazy quilt” for a home.

My analogy:  House as a crazy quilt…

Yves Delorme coverlets.  (my favorite linens ever) I find these colors more soothing.  (Just my opinion).

Yves Delorme coverlets. (my favorite linens ever) I find these colors more soothing. (Just my opinion).

These "crazy quilts" are beautiful on their own, especially this fine museum piece.  However, I feel the eye doesn't quite know where to land.  Hence my analogy:  House as a Quilt

These "crazy quilts" are beautiful on their own, especially this fine museum piece. However, I feel the eye doesn't quite know where to land. Hence my analogy: House as a Quilt

Our last house in Missouri was a “crazy quilt” and I vowed to never do it again.  So far I’ve kept that vow.  I used the house as an experimental one and I made a dang mess.   (Let’s try new paint finishes!  Let’s experiment with textures and wallpaper out the wazoo!) I bet when we moved, whoever bought that house cursed me with every brush stroke and every inch of wallpaper they’d have to remove.   (I didn’t have time to make the palate neutral before selling).  I don’t blame them.  Sorry, people who bought the house on Green Pines Drive.  Truly.

Oops, back to the  two foot horse made of driftwood.   Theater room.  Let’s see.  Alright, I did give in to the velvet curtains but I chose a light dusty blue which I’ll sew some trim on as soon as I get to it.  I added some topiary on top of the arts-and-crafts style dvd cabinet along with a small carved wooden horse (which I’m thinking of removing and maybe adding some other form of carved wood art).  Perhaps some models of architectural elements.  Definitely need two rugs, not floral or girly, but an earthy contemporary style with earthy tones and a bit of blue squiggles throughout.

DEFINITELY need new light fixtures.  The existing ones are the rudimentary kind which are provided by the contractors or whoever picked those things when our house was being built.  We tried to think of everything, every little detail, but we dropped the ball on that one.  I’m thinking pendant semi-flush ones with alabaster bowl-shaped shades.  I saw some last night that were to die for but they were an arm and a leg (and another leg)  and I didn’t want to go that far in price for fixtures.  …..but…..they were to die for!

These have to go:

These light fixtures have to go.  All of them.  Ew.

These light fixtures have to go. All of them. Ew.

Now THIS is what I had in mind.  (I wanna put on some Barry White and talk some sweet sweet love...) These "alabaster rocks" series at Ballacor are $800 each and I need three.  I'll find something similar but at a much, much lower price.

Now THIS is what I had in mind. (I wanna put on some Barry White and talk some sweet sweet love...) These "alabaster rocks" series at Ballacor are $800 each and I need three. I'll find something similar but at a much, much lower price!!

This is the entryway to our theater room. (This was a "bonus" room in the house which could be a bedroom or anything you need/want). Turn right at the speakers the size of a Hummer and there is the seating.

This is the entryway to our theater room. (This was a "bonus" room in the house which could be a bedroom or anything you need/want). Turn right at the speakers the size of a Hummer and there is the seating.

So here is the seating area.  Nothing really to add here except one of the rugs.  We call it cozy.

So here is the seating area. Nothing really to add here except one of the rugs. We call it cozy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Focal wall:  What to do for the focal wall?   You know the thing you first see when you walk into a room which sets the tone for the whole theme.  (Husband thinks the huge wicked awesome sound system the size of a Hummer is the focal point).  Nope.  The wicked awesome sound system is ornamental to men mostly.  On to Focal Wall:  A large painting?  I was also thinking of  large carved wood panels which would make a great focal point measuring about 40″ x 45″ or so.

Does Jubilee still fit in with what I had in mind?   Or should I scrap this idea of wood sculptural pieces altogether and do something completely different with the room?   This will worry me to death.    **sweats bullets**

Maybe Jubilee would prefer being outside?

 I’ll just have to wait and see what happens, what the room “needs”.
Lovingly tendered ~~ D
*Quick story as to where the name of the sculpture originated:   Eons ago, my Aunt Marchie was walking along.  A man strode up  on his horse.  (trying to gain her affections).    “My name is “_____”, he said.  “This my hoss, Jubilee”.  She told that story for years which used to crack us up.
4 responses »

  1. westwood says:

    That is a beautiful piece, but I do see.. pretty hard to integrate!

  2. There are no rules for decorating. You can do whatever you want! i think the horse is cool and a great convo-starter. Run with the idea! 🙂

    BTW…where did you find him?

    • Thanks! I do love him. I used to tell my clients when I made curtains for people back in the day, “Rules are, there are no rules!”.

      I found him at “Tuesday Morning” a discount store where I go to worship fine linens periodically. Do you have Tuesday Morning stores in your area? We had them as far north as St. Louis when I lived there.

Leave a Reply

