The Oval Office

Never let it be said that I’m not patriotic.  Well, at least as far as my decorating taste goes on some things.

The very first time I ever saw a set-up in a movie that depicted the Oval Offce with twin sofas facing each other, I was smitten.  No not smitten:   obsessed.     I couldn’t afford this at that time, but I filed it in my memory banks (aka noggin) for later.

The time to re-do the mix-matched sofas  came  in about 1998 or so.  I decided I’d had enough  of the two couches that were in the family room:  I re-did both of the couches in there myself  in the same leafy fabric…. They weren’t “twins”, However:   

Sofa #1 was a couch I had found at a church “yard” sale in 1997.   It was done in a large red and white  check fabric.   It was a camel-back sofa with an iffy spring system.  I “fixed” the springs as well as I could using twine and trying my best to fake a eight-way-hand-tie.  I then took this opportunity to teach myself to upholster furniture.  I had done small pieces before, (dining room chair seats, foot stools, etc.)  but never had I done an upholstering project this huge.

Sofa #2 was a Williamsburg-blue sofa-bed. A  camel-back with a box skirt which had been purchased by my in-laws for our wedding present in 1987.  The very first piece of furniture we had owned together.  I didn’t want to re-upholster this one as it was quite large, heavy and the sofa-bed part was proving tricky, so I taught myself to slip-cover.  Let me tell you, slip covering is hard.  There is no pattern and hardly any instructions out there to help you through it…you just have to feel your way.  I liken it to making custom clothing…it’s just that difficult.

I’ve always been a do-it-yourselfer,  necessity being the mother of invention.  I don’t tackle such huge projects now, it’s just too exhausting.  But I do recommend it to younger crafty types.  Doing projects like these mentioned can be so gratifying and the best way to test what you yourself are made of.  I think.

Lovingly tendered ~~ D

Any suggestions on how I can get Bono between my two couches? Anyone? No?

I bought these two couches at Ethan Allen in 2003.  I finally had gotten the “twins” I had obsessed about for so long.  Whew!

And so, this is our current family room. Yes I know, I need a rug….Badly!!

This post is from February 2012.  It’s now September 2012 and I’m getting ready to change the colors, drapes, etc and buy that rug.  But I will never part with my Oval Office Twins!  That would be, well, downright UN-AMERICAN!

Not to mention that it would be very, very un-Dawne-like (;^)

Lovingly ~~ D

3 responses »

  1. I think the living room looks beautiful! When you find the right rug, you’ll know it. And yeah. I know how to get Bono betweeen the two sofa’s…

  2. Wi-Fi (most likely will be exactly the same as the Ouya , but with no ethernet port).
    There is a very strong community of Android Developers who devote to build and share Android based firmware with additional features and
    customization. The best place to find an expert game developer is the web.

Leave a Reply

