Ah, Angelina, you do captivate.

Husband and I  were having lunch at Pappa’s Burgers on Westheimer *Houston* when he tilted his head slightly, squinted his eyes a bit as if he was trying to figure out who I was (or doing microsurgery), and told me “Um, you have makeup smudges on either side of your eyes”.

 Mortified,  I jumped up immediately and ran to the ladies room to check myself.    Wait a sec…………..that particular day I had tried my hand at the “cat eye” eyeliner.

Not the extreme cat-eye  ala Amy Winehouse (rest her),  or the smudgey devil-may-care Little Edie Beale cat-eye…although she actually did pull it off rather well.

But back to me in the toilettes.  Oh crud!  How embarassing!    I tried the look that day and I thought I had it just so.   *ooh poo*    I wiped off the outer ends of the eyeliner *sigh* and went back to our table.

I always knew I’d never be able to get away with the exotic looks.   I guess I’ll just have to settle with the girl-next-door (or at least girl-down-the-street) look.   ツ

C’est la Vie.  It is life….

Lovingly ~~ D

5 responses »

  1. incaunipocrit says:

    Reblogged this on Basil Wheel.

  2. Hi Dawn!! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    This made me laugh! My daughter can do the cat eye thing soooo well. Me? I usually am so cranked up on caffeine that there’s no way I can hold an eyeliner pen still. I’m REALLY not very skilled in the make up department ….I’m just waiting for the day when I reach into my makeup bag and mistake cover stick for lipstick.

  3. crubin says:

    I’ve noticed that the older I get, the less-is-more adage strongly applies to my eye make-up! Or maybe I’m just getting lazy…
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

