As some of you may know, I have many addictions or habits or collections, or whatever moniker/adjective I’m calling it these days.

This one is about bags.  Thats right, I’m talking about Bags.  Purses.  Handbags.  And as my Grandmother, Nanny called them:  Pocketbooks.

You say “it will never happen to me.  It doesn’t matter what I carry my stuff  in.”    “What’s the difference?  Leather is leather, names are names, straps and handles are straps and handles, blah blah.”  You tell yourself all sorts of things.

And then……..at Marshall’s (a known enabler) ……. you see her………  She’s a black mock-croc Ralph Lauren “Doctor” bag with both handles and a shoulder strap.  You touch it, pick it up, put it on your shoulder (feels nice) find a mirror, (ooh looks nice too) rub your hand gingerly all around the surface of the moc croc leather …..   and I can get all my  stuff in here!  After about 30 – 45 minutes of good, juicy rationalizations (but the cost, ) (do I need it?)  (can I afford it?)   (but I haven’t bought a new purse in a year!)       Yes, yeeees, thaaaat’s  it.  Good work, brain thinkings, good work!

Then you take her up to the cashier and buy her.  *Exhale*.  Contratulations!.

It starts off with Ralph Lauren, Eteinne Aigner, Etc…….

But you still feel an itch that won’t stop, a craving, a longing.  *heavy sigh*  That’s when you start hitting the hard stuff  (Chanel, Valentino, Prada).  There is no way back…you don’t want to go back.  You need bigger and bigger fixes just to get that high, that heady buzz.

Now.You’re.Hooked.

I actually sold that black mock croc six years ago on eBay.  A lady in Provence, France bought it and she was thrilled that it matched her shoes.

The moral of this story?  No moral at all.  But if we need a saying of sorts, I’ll coin one.

If you are hooked on something, then get others hooked too, then you can feel better about it.

…… Ebay it forward, if you will.

<div id=’cm_iframe’></div><script type=’text/javascript’ src=’http://houston.culturemap.com/news/republish.js?slug=12-05-11-tiffany-co-expands-into-leather-goods-jennifer-aniston-takes-note&width=495&theme=light’></script&gt;

Leave a Reply

